a letter to my daughter as she heads off to college

Dear Baby Girl,

It’s finally here…  the day we’ve been preparing you for and the day I knew I’d never be ready for.  Don’t get me wrong, I know you’re going to be just fine.  I just know how much I’m going to miss seeing your beautiful face and hearing your infectious laugh every day.  I know you’re not that far away, but knowing that you’re not in our home where, I can tuck you in every night and make sure you’re safe…  well, that’s going to be a little difficult for me.  So, I want to apologize, in advance, if at first I am one of those overbearing mothers that checks on you constantly.  I don’t want you to think I don’t trust you, it’s the world we live in that gives me pause.  I pray that God keeps a hedge of protection around you always.

I need you to know that you have always brought joy and happiness to my heart.  From the first day I met you, a shy little seven year old with stars in her eyes, to the outspoken, independent young lady you are now… with even brighter stars in your eyes.  I never realized just how proud of someone I could be.  You have accomplished so much over the last ten years.  You have such an amazing work ethic and have always conquered whatever task you put your mind to.  I have no doubt that you will continue to work hard and achieve even greater success in the future.

I also need you to know that everything is not always going to be rainbows and glitter.  You are going to face difficulties, you are going to struggle and you may fail.  It’s important to know that when this happens, it’s part of God’s plan.  He teaches us to rely on Him and grow stronger in our faith through trials and struggles.  Remember to always seek Him first in all you do and you will be just fine.  Praise Him when things are good, praise Him when things aren’t going your way, cry out to Him when you’re struggling and He will sustain you.  We may not always understand His plan for our lives, but you must always remember that His ways are so much better than ours and He works all things for the good of those who love Him.  I can’t wait to see the plans He has for your life.

I’ll end by saying just this…  my heart is full.  Full of pride for the things you’ve already done, full of hope for the things you’ll do in the future, and full of love for the child you were, the woman you are, and the daughter that I never imagined I would have.  I will be here for you always!  I love you my sweet, baby girl.  Now go out and conquer the world!

Love Always,

Momma

 

Leave a Reply

