mama bear

written from my daughter’s perspective based on several conversations regarding this incident…

“She must be out of her mind! She has no idea who she’s messing with!”

As I sat on my bed crying, watching my mom scroll through my phone, it was obvious that she wasn’t going to let this go. It was no secret that my best friend and I had a falling out weeks ago.  We weren’t speaking, but up until this point, that was the extent of it.  Then, when I woke up for school this morning, I did what I always do, I hopped on Twitter to see what all my friends were up to.  To my utter surprise, this girl was trashing me to all “our” friends.  Needless to say, I got upset and when mom came in to tell me she was leaving for work, she took one look at my face and knew something was wrong.  I couldn’t hide it.  I told her what happened and she grabbed my phone off the desk and started reading every little detail.

“You stay home today and just relax, I’ll take care of this.”

She’ll take care of it? What was she talking about?  What was she going to do?  I had never seen her so angry.  She was absolutely livid.  Stay home?  I don’t miss school, but I couldn’t muster a protest.  I just nodded my head, she kissed me and walked out of the room.

It wouldn’t be until later that afternoon that I found out she had confronted my former friend. In the parking lot.  Of the school.  In front of everyone.  I was told she didn’t yell and scream, but spoke very calmly.  However, she told the girl in no uncertain terms, to leave me alone.  Looking back now, I can honestly laugh.  Picturing my mom standing there, pointing and wagging her finger while lecturing her about cyber bullying, what an image that brings to my mind.  I also gained a little perspective on my mom that day.  She would always share memes about being a mama bear and how nobody should mess with her children, etc, but mom doesn’t like confrontation.  It was quite a shock to see her as angry as she was about me being emotionally hurt.  You always hear people say that “you’ll understand when you have kids.”  I think, that day, I gained a little of that understanding.  It just made realize how much my mom loves me.  Not like I didn’t believe she loved me before, but you know what I mean.  She would do anything for me and I’m so grateful to have a mom like that.

 

2 thoughts on “mama bear

Leave a Reply

