i go back

I absolutely love the song “I Go Back” by Kenny Chesney.  I think it describes exactly what happens when I hear a song and it takes me back to a specific moment in time.

Case in point, I can hear the song “Total Eclipse of the Heart” and I am instantly transported to the skating rink.  I am a fourteen year old girl, wearing brown roller skates with orange laces and wheels.  I can see the shiny, brown wood of the rink beneath my skates.  I can smell the burgers on the grill in the cafe.  I can hear the laughter of all my friends.  Most of all, I can hear Pat Benatar’s voice coming through the speakers, singing the melody that I didn’t realize I would carry with me for the rest of my life.

2 thoughts on “i go back

Leave a Reply

