when she was young

The letter fell from her hand and drifted to the floor. She rushed to the bathroom and into the first available stall, where she immediately relieved herself of her lunch. She could hear murmurs and what sounded like, “Are you okay?” and was barely able to answer to the affirmative. She cleared her throat and repeated, “I’ll be fine, thank you.” But she knew that was far from the truth. Georgia decided to take the rest of the day off.

She grabbed her things from her office, including the letter she had dropped, sent an email to her secretary asking her to cancel all appointments for the day due to a personal matter and then she headed home. After a long, hot shower, she was now comfortably seated on her sofa. She pulled the folded envelope out of her purse, took a deep breath and read the letter for the second time.

Dear Ms. Winchester,

I pray this letter finds you and finds you well. My name is Hilly and I work at Greenville Manor. Your mother, Caroline, has been a resident here for the last twelve years. In my line of work, we are not supposed to get too close to our patients. Actually, we are encouraged to keep our distance and just do our jobs. I couldn’t seem to do that with your mother. She opened up to me almost immediately and we’ve become pretty good friends. She’s told me so much about you and her past. It’s not my place to share everything with you, but I know she has regrets. She also has no idea that I am writing you. However, the purpose of this letter is to let you know that she is not in the best of health. I know you have had no contact with her in years, but I felt I owed it to her to ask you to come. I know I don’t have to tell you not to feel obligated, but I also know that it might benefit you both to have some closure. I have enclosed my contact information, should you have any questions. I understand what I’m asking may be difficult, but please be quick to decide. Your mother doesn’t have much time left.

Sincerely,

Hilly Gordon

Georgia folded the letter, set it on the table and picked up her glass of water. ‘Maybe I should take up drinking alcohol.’ she thought. And then she remembered why she never touched the stuff. It was hard growing up with an alcoholic, among other things, as a mother. She took a deep breath, closed her eyes and wished for sleep to come quickly. Tomorrow, she’d think tomorrow.

…to be continued

 

 

4 thoughts on “when she was young

Leave a Reply

