always, momma

via Daily Prompt: Second Thoughts

The dictionary defines regret as a feeling of sadness, repentance, or disappointment over something that has happened or been done. I have a lot of regrets. I used to think having regrets meant that you wished something had not happened. I don’t necessarily wish the things that caused me regret didn’t happen because they were all part of God’s plan. If we didn’t feel sadness, how could we truly value the feeling of happiness?

Being a mom has brought me so much happiness, but it has also caused me great sadness. To see your child in pain and know that you cannot do anything to take that pain away, that is one of the hardest things about being a mom. The worst part is that their decisions are often what cause them to suffer due to the consequences they must face as a result of those decisions. In my experience, I have found it harder as my children get older. A parent prays that they raised their child right and that they raised them to make the right choices. Let’s be honest though, they will make mistakes. A parent’s hope is that they learn from those mistakes. What do you do when they continue to make mistake after mistake? You become disappointed, but you also let them know that you are there for them. No matter what, you will always be their parent. They will disappoint you, they will make you angry, they will make you sad and they will make you cry. They will rebel, they will think they know everything, including what is best for them, and they will test you.

Will you pass the test? No matter what regrets I have had as a mom, I never had second thoughts about accepting the role. You see, I had a choice. I did not give birth to my children, but I did give them my heart. I, too, have made mistakes that have caused me regret. I just pray that my children, no matter how old they are, always remember that their needs always came before my wants. Their happiness and well-being were always my priority. And most importantly, I have and always will love them with all my heart. I am their Momma.

Leave a Reply

