search me: godly friends

Let’s face it, none of us like to be told we are doing something wrong and unfortunately, we are constantly doing things wrong. Sometimes it’s intentional; other times not. But, we are human and we do make mistakes.

Thank God for friends that love us in spite of those mistakes. I’m blessed to have friends that love me with such vigor that they will tell me the truth when I need to hear it.

If you’ve been reading this blog for some time, you’ll know that I am struggling with a variety of things. The majority of my struggles are with family members. There are those who have hurt me and I would like to say that I have forgiven them. As a Christian, that’s very important to me. I want to handle every situation as Christ would.  But it’s hard, He was perfect and I am far from it. Fortunately, I have Godly friends that will tell me when I am not doing as God would have me do.

These friends, I consider family more than some blood relatives. I trust them to guide me toward the right path when I tend to stray from it. I know that they will not steer me wrong, I trust them because they are Godly friends. Their constructive criticism is free flowing because they want what’s best for me. There are times I don’t want to hear it, but, what’s that saying?  The truth hurts…  My friends tell me the truth because they care about me, not just my life on earth, but my eternal life.

None of us are perfect. We will have issues in life and face many difficulties. There will be problems that come about, that we don’t have the answers to. Who do you turn to for guidance?  Life is much easier when you have Godly people that want to help you during these times. I, for one, am extremely appreciative to have such friends in my life. I pray that they know I will be here for them, in the same capacity, should they ever need me.

via Daily Prompt: Vigor

Leave a Reply

