search me: are you embarrassed to worship?

What does worship mean to you? 

Worship is the feeling or expression of reverence and adoration for God. There are several different ways you can worship Him. One of my favorites is to worship through music. I absolutely love Sunday morning worship in my church. We have a wonderful band and they put their all into making this a great time for our church members.

I know, from experience, some people are afraid to get excited during worship. There are several people who worry abut things like, what will others think if I raise my hands? What will they think if I dance or clap? My question to those individuals is, what will God think if you don’t?

Don’t get me wrong, I know exactly how you feel. I used to worry about the same things. I didn’t want anyone to make fun of me for doing something out of the norm. How did I get over it? I started with closing my eyes. I think it’s so cute when toddlers close their eyes because they think if they can’t be seen, than you can’t see them. But, that’s what I would imagine. I would close my eyes and everyone else in the church would vanish. It would just be me, the music, the words of the songs and God. Eventually, it got to the point where I didn’t have to close my eyes to make that happen anymore.

Once I got over the fear of what others thought of me, worship became a much more personal and pleasurable experience. I sing out to God and put all of my thankfulness and love for Him into it. I raise my hands and reach out to Him, wanting to be as close to Him as possible. I raise my hands to let Him know that I am open and accepting to Him and whatever He asks of me. I dance so He can see how full of joy I am and how much I love to worship Him. When I focus on God, I no longer worry or wonder what others think. Everything is about Him, just as it should be.

My point is, when the Spirit moves you, do not be afraid to let it! And when you feel moved, do not be afraid to show it!

Make a joyful shout to the Lord, all you lands! Serve the Lord with gladness; Come before His presence with singing. – Psalms 100:1-2

via Daily Prompt: Vanish

Leave a Reply

