a fishing date

Last night, my husband and I went on a dinner date. We headed to our favorite Japanese restaurant for sushi and steak and shrimp hibachi. It was absolutely delicious. Not to mention, the company was divine!

After dinner, we headed over to Walmart for a little shopping. Now, when we go shopping, I mean I get what we need while my husband spends his time in the sports and fishing aisles. By the time I was finished and we met up for checkout, my hubby had a new rod and reel in his hand. “Let’s go fishing tomorrow,” he said. Great idea, I thought! I love fishing!

How ironic, this morning I woke up and as usual, checked my email before doing anything else. What did I see? Today’s Daily Prompt: Fishing!  I literally laughed out loud.

Anyways, we spent the day out the dock fishing. It was a beautiful, sunny day for December. Hard to believe, it was eighty degrees. Hot is an understatement. I actually got a sunburn. We didn’t catch much, just a few small fish that we threw back. We were getting ready to leave when my husband reeled in a seventeen inch red bass. Only one inch short of the legal size to keep. It loved how excited my husband was that he caught the fish, but he was bummed to have to let it go. We stayed another couple of hours with just a few more bites but no keepers. Still, it was a great day.

A little advice for my married readers. Never stop dating. Just because you’re married doesn’t mean that you should stop doing all the things that you did before you had that legal piece of paper. Spend time together, talk to each other and enjoy each other. After all, you’re going to be together forever, love every moment!

“A wife of noble character, who can find?  She is worth far more than rubies.” – Proverbs 31:10

“Wives, submit yourself to your own husbands as you do to the Lord.” – Ephesians 5:22

via Daily Prompt: Fishing

Leave a Reply

