search me: discovering the darkness

The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. – John 1:5

I am not perfect. I am human. I am a sinner. I need a savior.

God, our Father in Heaven, sent his only son to die for our sins. Jesus Christ was born to a virgin, lived a perfect life and was crucified for our sins. I have accepted Him as my Lord and Savior. He has paid the price for my sin and purchased a place for me in Heaven. I am a Christian. My relationship with God is a personal one. He is always with me and through Him, I can do all things.

Due to being human and imperfect, I make mistakes. There are times that Jesus’ light does not shine through me, due to my choices. Feelings tend to play a huge part in that. If someone hurts me, I may not always react the way that Jesus says I should. Same thing if someone makes me angry. I am not blaming others, it’s my choice to react the way that I do. I could be in a bad mood, due to no one else’s fault, and I may choose to not act appropriately. I am not making excuses, I am just stating the facts. Humans have a choice to accept Christ and follow His commandments or to reject Him. As I said, even those who accept Him make mistakes. We repent and ask for forgiveness. We are blessed by a merciful God who gives it.

And what of those who confess to accept Christ, but constantly makes conscious decisions to go against His commandments? What of those who see nothing wrong with their actions, therefore, do not ask for forgiveness? What of those who have such hatred in their hearts that they are cruel to those they do not like, rather than loving everyone as God commands us to do? What happens when you discover a brother or sister in Christ lets darkness replace the light in their life and heart?  Is this person truly saved?

It is not my place to say if someone is saved or not. That is between that person and God. But their actions and choices do say something about their testimony. I will say that I have been on the receiving end of such cruelty, such hatred and it does make me question the salvation of that person. I do not believe it’s wrong to question things like this, but I do believe that it is my job to pray for the person who has shown such ill will towards me. The Bible says, in Luke 6:27, “But to you who are listening I say: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you.” Easier said than done, right?

It’s human nature to question things, to try to figure them out. So, I’ve spent quite a bit of time trying to figure out what I’ve done to cause these feelings in another person. As I have previously said, I’ve made mistakes. Maybe I said something or did something when I was in a bad mood. Maybe I was hurt and took my feelings out on this person. I really don’t believe that’s the case, but maybe that’s just to ease my mind. Whatever the reason, I will continue to pray for this person. I will continue to pray that this person’s actions towards me does not harden my heart towards them.

God’s will is that no one should perish, but those who believe in Him should have everlasting life. As a Christian, my will is to see His will done. I want everyone to know how good God is. Everyone should know that He loves them and wants nothing but good for them.

This thing called the Christian Life is not easy, there are struggles we must go through. There are trials that we must learn from. God is with us through everything. He never leaves us. He gives us the strength to overcome all things. To spend eternity with God in Heaven makes the tribulations of this life worth living. To bring others to Christ so that they can also spend eternity with us and Him in Heaven is the ‘icing on the cake.’

No matter what kind of darkness you are facing, just remember that His light shines and no amount of darkness will ever overcome it.

via Daily Prompt: Discover

Leave a Reply

