Hope and the Movies

We’ve decided to hunker down at home and wait out the storm. Every channel on television is continuously showing the ever changing path of Hurricane Irma. Women, they can be so indecisive! So, what’s one to do when work and most of the city has shut down for the next few days? Get cozy on the couch and start a movie marathon. Thank God we haven’t lost power… yet.

Movies have always been one of my favorite past times. I love the way a story just comes to life on the screen. You get caught up in the lives of the characters and the plot. The next thing you know, real life ceases to exist; if only for the next two hours. I guess you could say that movies are a form of escape, if you so choose to use them for that purpose.

What happens when the movie ends? You remember; you remember the scenes and stories and you remember how they made you feel. You can recall those feelings when life puts you in similar situations. But, things aren’t always like the movies.

I’d say I choose my movie based on my  mood. A romantic comedy, action/adventure, suspense/thriller, or maybe a cult classic. There’s not a genre that I don’t like. It all depends on how I’m feeling at the time. The only ones I struggle with are the movies about family drama or discontent. Oh, I struggle with them, but I watch them all the same. I watch them when I’m sad or need a good cry. I guess I consider it a type of therapeutic torture. Can you say oxymoron?!

I tend to find joy in watching movies with dysfunctional families. You know, the ones where nobody can get a long due to some tragic event in the past, that you’ll likely find out about toward the end of the movie. I know what you’re thinking… what is wrong with her?! Trust me, I get it. It’s not that I like to see people (fictional or real) suffer, it’s not that at all. My joy comes from seeing those characters overcome the situations that put them in such a sad state in the first place. At the end of the movie, everyone is emotionally healed and realizes how important family is. They are all so full of love for one another that they can’t help but embrace each other while tears of joy and regret run down their faces. Joy for the relationship they have now and will have in the future and regret for all the time that they spent being bitter and angry.

Like I said earlier, life isn’t like the movies; there’s not always a happy ending to every situation. I guess, if you care to think about it this way, movies with happy endings give us hope. They give the single person hope that they can find true love. They give a child the hope that they can be a superhero to someone. They give someone struggling with finances the hope that they could find riches beyond their wildest dreams. Happy endings give me hope that I can overcome heartache from my past.

To quote one of my favorite movies of all time, The Shawshank Redemption,  “Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.” – Andy Dufresne

Andy-dufresne

The heart and mind often want different things. Which should you listen to? Today, my mind says to move on and let go of the past. There’s nothing there but hurt and heartache. My heart says to hold on to hope because maybe, just maybe… things will be different.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

