No Regrets

I couldn’t help but throw this in here… this was a great movie. Who doesn’t love a little Scotty P? Know what I’m sayin?  Ha ha!

no regrets

On a more serious note…

My husband once asked me where I was years ago. We didn’t find each other until later in life. We were both in our thirties when we met and started dating, each with one marriage already under our belts and him with three children. His thought in asking the question was why couldn’t we have met sooner and had more time together? We have a wonderful relationship and have enjoyed so much in the eleven plus years we’ve been together and I know we’ll do the same for the next forty or so years. But, why couldn’t we have had those earlier years together as well? Why dd it take so long for God to bring us together? He had His reasons.

stupid

My answer to his question was this, I wouldn’t have dated him if we’d met years earlier. We were two completely different people back then. Knowing who he was, I wouldn’t have liked him. He was far from the God fearing, caring and supportive man he is now. That’s not a put-down, it’s just to say he hadn’t had the experiences in life that made him into who he is now. And it wasn’t just him, I was nowhere near the person I am today either. Life has a way of causing us to recreate ourselves.

trials

 

Everything that happens to us, everything we experience in life, has an affect on who we are and who we become. I’ve learned from the things life has thrown at me. The pleasant things taught me how to be appreciative. The not so pleasant things, well, they taught me how to cope. For me, the things I experienced before I met my husband prepared me to be a better wife to him and I believe the same is true of him. Our first marriages taught us what kind of husband and wife we didn’t want to be, as well as what kind of husband and wife we didn’t want to be married to. It wasn’t easy, but we made it through and were better because of it. Unfortunately, others are not so lucky. The things that they have been through could have a more negative affect on who they become. I believe it’s all in your determination to make lemons into lemonade. It’s your choice how you react to every situation. You can choose to sulk and throw yourself a pity party when things are going wrong. Or, you can pick yourself up, deal with the situation and move on. How do you find the strength? I turn to God. He doesn’t promise life will be easy, but He does promise us that we don’t have to go through it alone.

Thanks to God’s perfect plan, I know I am who I’m supposed to be. Did I have to go through all those tough times to get where I am today? Absolutely. In Romans 8:28, the Bible says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to His purpose.”

I made it through. I survived all the trials of the past and they’ve made me who I am. I am happy, I am with the man of my dreams, I have a wonderful family and job, amazing friends and a life that is as close to perfect as possible. There’s nothing I would change about the past, I have no regrets.

Happily_ever_after_by_jucylucyinspired

 

Leave a Reply

