Hope for a Troubled World

There are so many problems in the world today, it’s hard to stay focused on what’s important. Then again, I guess some things that I think are important, others may not and vice versa. I believe everyone has the right to their opinion, but I also believe there is a time and place for everything. With that being said, I’m not hear to argue politics or freedom of speech or racism or boycotting the NFL. I’m just going to tell you what’s on my mind.

suntrust

 

I celebrated my birthday on Tuesday of last week. My husband and some close friends took a trip to Tennessee. We were able to relax, sight see, go to Dollywood, and even catch a Braves game on the way back home. It was almost, yes almost, a perfect trip. There was something that happened on our way to Dollywood and I can’t seem to get it off of my mind.

As we’re driving down Chapman Highway, in Seymour, TN; we hear sirens and see lights. There are several accident vehicles, ambulances and police cars and fire trucks, flying by us. Another couple of miles down the road, we reach their destination. Apparently, there was a thirteen month old child that was involved in a hit and run. My husband noticed the toddler lying on the road while a police officer was administering CPR. My friend, who was sitting in the back seat with me, turned and saw the child’s face. That image haunted her for the remainder of the day and for a few days after. We were determined to find out what happened and planned to stop at a nearby business, on the way back, but the business was closed. Again, we just had to know what happened. We were hoping that the child survived and was recovering. Later that evening, we learned the terrible facts of what happened. The little baby died. A thirteen month old little girl was hit by a car and died at the scene.

accident

In the last few days, I have read many disturbing news articles and I just keep asking myself ‘why?’ I read about a female employee, at McDonalds, who gave birth in the restroom at work. A couple of her co-workers went to check on her and found her trying to flush her newborn baby down the toilet. Another article was about a man who strangled his two year old and newborn sons, before setting his house on fire, killing himself while his wife slept.

What is wrong with people? I will never understand and I’d probably drive myself crazy trying to figure it out! This is a lost and dying world that needs Jesus. Since I cannot control other peoples actions, let alone understand them, I will choose to pray for them. I will pray for the lost that commit such heinous acts and I will pray for the innocent that are affected by their actions. I would ask that you do the same. We must live in this crazy world for now, but it’s a comfort knowing that this is only our temporary home. Our true home is in Heaven. While we are on this earth, John 16:33 is also a great comfort. It states “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

